About the Site

Hi! My name is Neha. This is my brain space - my tabula rasa for random thoughts.

In September 2015, I published The Official Couchsurfing Guide which went viral within the Couchsurfing community.

Now, back to a modest 10-20 daily visitors, I focus on updating the blog with my thoughts on travel, organization, career exploration, and life perspective.

Welcome, have fun, and if you see something you like, feel free to email me ([email protected]). I live in Dallas, TX + love meeting people so if you’re in the area, reach out.

About Me

I spend a lot of time thinking about

Personal Development – I consider myself a constantly evolving piece of software - continually identifying the bugs and feature implementations I can add to myself and the million things I have yet to learn. Reid Hoffman terms this state “permanent beta”, which I entirely identify with.

Sometimes a feature gets added and the whole thing blows up (cue Stack Overflow), but for the most part, it’s worked out pretty well. I can’t imagine not being obsessed about personal development, what I can learn, and how I can improve; it comes with its ups and downs but for the most part, I’m incredibly proud of how far I’ve come and more importantly, how much further I have to go from here.

Optimizing / Engineering Life . . .as opposed to simply letting it happen.

Future Plans / Future Trajectory . . . or in other words, how to maximize the impact and value I provide in my chosen career path.

I’m generally described as

  • Cheerful
  • Playful
  • Analytical
  • High-energy
  • Giving
  • “Spreadsheet-oriented”
  • “Data-driven”

I used to joke that I have basically no social life, but I don’t think that’s entirely true (anymore). My close friends and family mean the world to me. If we’ve ever videochatted, hung out at a board game night, or spent time together in person, you know I’m referring to you.

What I’m Doing With My Life

I studied at Johns Hopkins University as a double major, double minor, mostly focusing on Economics and Computer Science. Also studied at Oxford University as a visiting student in 2014 and 2015.

Like most people, I had generally no clue as to what I’d want to do in the future, beyond wanting to build on my technical skill. I researched a ton and even documented my research as a career guide before hitting the university fall recruiting season in full force.

I was lucky enough to receive 8 job offers in the fall with companies probably far too good for me – Microsoft, Deloitte, Booz Allen Hamilton, Prudential, Teach for America, Bloomberg, etc.,

In any case, even after all of that, I still have no clue what I want to do in the future - you know, from a long-term perspective. But I’m open-minded, driven, and ready to put in the time if I see or create something valuable.

10 things I could never do without

Cool Things I’ve Done

  • Camped on the Great Wall of China
  • Hiked to the top of a volcano in snow and hail (Scotland)
  • Attended London’s crazy New Year’s Eve countdown + celebration
  • Ate at the coffee shop where J.K. Rowling authored Harry Potter
  • Celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in Dublin, Ireland (craaaazy…)
  • Played underwater hockey
  • Got bit by a dog in Jamaica 😕
  • Met HONY’s Brandon Stanton
  • Studied at Oxford University
  • Traveled to 30 countries & 6 continents and will be traveling to the last few countries I want to see before settling down and starting work at Microsoft.
  • Scuba-dived (twice!) the Great Barrier Reef (Sydney, Australia)
  • Failed 2 or 3 times at doing P90X (hopefully one day…)

Footsteps as of June 2017

Africa | Ghana

Asia | China, Hong Kong, India. Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), South Korea, Thailand

Europe | Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City

North America | Canada, Jamaica, United States

South America | Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

Oceania | Australia

Antartica | Coming soon ;)

(An overview of locations I’d recommend and not recommend).

Salinas Grandes, Argentina, one of the biggest salt flats in the world.

And that’s pretty much it!

If you see something you like or want to reach out, please do.

Below is a list of which cities I’ll be in and when — if you’re in town, let’s meet up. I’m super approachable and love meeting new people. Otherwise, welcome to the site, and have fun 😊

2017: 8 Month Plan 😛